top of page
  • mankejpaul

Legislators Try to Build Support For Expanding ARC

Area state legislators are trying to get Giles and Lincoln counties added to the list of counties in the Appalachian Regional Commission, a federal-state economic group formed to spur development in several states.

Except for West Virginia, where the whole state is in the ARC, selected counties in Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, North Carolina, New York, Ohio, South Carolina and Virginia are in the ARC.

“Being in the ARC would allow Giles County to apply for more federal grants and loans,” he said.

Doggett has joined with 92nd District State Rep. Todd Warner, a Republican from Chapel Hill, to ask Tennessee Senators Marsha Blackburn and Bill Hagerty, Seventh District Congressman Mark Green and Fourth District Congressman Scott Desjarlais to back the request.

“Hamilton (Chattanooga) and Bradley counties, in Tennessee, and Madison County (Huntsville, (Ala.) are in the ARC,” Doggett said.

The ARC is intended to help distressed counties, he said,

Warner’s and Doggett’s districts adjoin each other. Around Ardmore, Doggett represents a section in Giles County and Warner the part in Lincoln County.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page